Press release

29th March 2008 - Ljubljana - BEDA Elects new Board of Directors for 2008-2010 and accepts three new Members

At its General Assembly timed to coincide with the Slovenian Presidency of the European Union, the BEDA membership attending from 23 European countries, elected the new Board of Directors for the term 2008-2010 and ratified three new members.

The returning Board members are

Severin Filek, Design Austria, Austria Tom Gloesener, Design Luxembourg, Luxembourg Dag Holmgren, Swedish Designers, Sweden (Secretary) Isabel Roig, Barcelona Centre de Disseny, Spain (Treasurer) Johan Valcke, Design Flanders, Belgium

Newly elected Board members

Henrique Cayatte, Portuguese Design Centre, Portugal Ilona Gurjanova, Estonian Design Centre, Estonia Sanna Simola, Ornamo, Finland Spela Subic, BIO, Slovenia

The three new Members of BEDA are

Czech Trade, Czech Republic (www.czechtrade.cz) Latvian Design Information Centre, Latvia (www.dic.lv) DDI - Sociedad Estatal para el desarrollo del diseño e innovación, Spain (www.ddi.es)

Michael Thomson (Design Business Association, UK) will complete his term as BEDA President in March 2009 at which point Vice President, Jan R. Stavik (Norwegian Design Council, Norway) will become President.

Speaking in Ljubljana yesterday, Michael Thomson, BEDA President said, "BEDA is growing and we welcome our new members. We are achieving our strategic goals step by step. BEDA is more committed than ever before to drive in partnership with the European Commission, the ongoing development of the design agenda for Europe."

Notes to Editors

BEDA was established in 1969. It currently has 39 members in 23 Member States comprising representative professional design organisations and national design promotion centres. Its role is to communicate the value of design and innovation to the institutions of the European Union. For further information contact BEDA Administrator Estela Vera-Noble on +34 934 153 655 or at office@beda.org

